The Hockey Saint Tour

unnamed

The Hockey Saint

 

Synopsis 
 

The highly anticipated sequel to “The Stereoypical Freaks” and the 2nd book in the “Forever Friends” Trilogy, this is “The Hockey Saint”

Twenty-one year old Jeremiah Jacobson is the world’s best hockey player, but he wasn’t prepared for the frenzy and scrutiny that came with that title. Tom Leonard is an average college sophomore… just a guy trying to find his place in the world as he sorts through issues that are both very real and seemingly insurmountable.

Through a chance meeting, these two strike up an unlikely friendship. Their bond is tested when Tom discovers that his idol isn’t as perfect up close as he seems from afar. With Jeremiah living a little too much in the moment and with his past catching up to him, will Tom be able to help him before it’s too late?

Review

This was a good read. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. I don’t read many books in the point of views of guys. Hockey is a good sport, that’s why I picked up this story. The plot itself is great. There is more to it than just a story about a twenty-one year guy. There were a few twists I didn’t see coming. Tom’s Grandma might be my favorite character, why? I’m not sure there’s just something about her that I enjoy the part she plays in to the story. Tom is a great strong lead character.

It’s a comic book to the drawing/art in the book is awesome. It helps bring out the story and characters even more. (That’s one thing I enjoyed more about this book) the drawings matched the story. This simple sport story shows into the life of Tom on of the most Popular Hockey player who’s dealing with more then just a game and ice in life.

 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
 

HOWARD SHAPIRO lives in Pittsburgh, PA with his wife and two sons. The Controller for the Pittsburgh-based Visual Effects firm, Animal Inc., he has also written four children’s books and The Stereotypical Freaks will be his debut Graphic Novel. His 2008 book, Hockey Player for Life, has been the #1 downloaded children’s hockey e-book on Amazon’s Kindle chart since its arrival as an e-book in November of 2011. His, Hockey Days book was the only book featured in the December 2007 Sporting News Annual Gift Guide as a Best Buy Gift for Children. Through a corporate sponsorship program he set up (and maintains), since the 2010-11 season, both of his children’s hockey books have been given to NHL teams (over 2,500 copies to date) for use in their community and educational initiatives. Since 2006 his annual charity raffle, which he matches dollar for dollar donated, has raised funds for several hockey-related charities including the Mario Lemieux Foundation, Hockey Fights Cancer and the Keith and Lisa Primeau Scholarship Fund.

Author Interview

What inspired you to write this book?

It was a combination of a few things, I started writing it around the time that the Sandusky arrest happened and I live in Pittsburgh and Penn State is only a few hours away and so we were bombarded daily with all of the details.  The thing that struck me was that it was such an incredibly horrible but that the alumni, students, seemingly everyone involved thought that yes, this is a tragically horrible situation… but that shouldn’t stop us from enjoying the game, tailgating , Joe Paterno’s legacy and so on.  So, the idea of the over emphasis and over analysis of sports and their role in society was something I wanted to write about.  Plus, the idea or definition of a celebrity in the modern era was something I wanted to write about as well.

Is hockey your favorite sport?

It is and for several reasons.  First and foremost it is the best game to play and watch, I feel.  The true beauty of it, again to me, is that when I played it I learned many life lessons.  More than any other sport or activity, the game of hockey taught me a lot and I have been able to take those lessons learned and apply them to my professional life.  Playing the game has had a huge impact on me and still does to this day.

What was the hardest part of writing the book?

That’s a good question because writing it wasn’t too difficult.  I stuck to an outline or road map (if you will) and I was able to follow that.  So, the pre-production was relatively straight forward.  The difficult part is editing it over and over and over, really editing it to the bone which you have to do, I feel, in a graphic novel.  There were many scenes I either eliminated or edited down a lot.  Fortunately, I had the great fortune to work with a tremendous editor, Christina Ahn Hickey.  She’s the best storyteller and one of the best writers I know and being able to work with her made this the best writing experience I ever had and the book would not have been done without her help.

If you only had three words to describe the plot of the story, what would be they be?

Friendship, sacrifice and ambition

If you could give advice to one of your characters, who would it be and what would you say?

I would say to Jeremiah Jacobson, try moderation in all facets of his life and to try and smell the roses every now and then!

Rafflecopter Link
Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
 

Winner will receive a $30.00 Amazon Gift Card, T-Shirt and a Signed Copy of The Hockey Saint by Howard Shapiro.

Winner will receive a T-Shirt and a Signed Copy of The Hockey Saint by Howard Shapiro.

 

 

Leave a Reply

